Thailand: the adventure begins

10 Aug

Welcome to my first attempt at blogging!! Since Orestes and I are having this big adventure, I thought I’d take the opportunity to share our travels with friends and family. As those close to me know, I love to talk, I love to write rambling emails, and I love to take pictures. Blogging about travel seems the logical extension. This will be a random collection of my thoughts and photos as we settle into life in Bangkok, and travel around Southeast Asia. Hope you like it!!

And now, in no particular order, my initial thoughts about life in Thailand:

1) We’re not in Harlem anymore. Our neighborhood is the cutest little suburban thing I have ever seen. It is called Tarakorn (or Charakorn, it’s really more of a combo of the ‘t’ and ‘ch’ sounds which doesn’t translate into the Roman alphabet very well). Many of the houses are painted crazy colors, and ours is no exception. Our landlord apparently enjoys pastel colors, and paints each one of his houses a different shade. Our abode is entirely mint green. When I say entirely, I mean entirely: the outside, the trim, the curtains, everything. One teacher has a light blue home, and another’s is completely peach. The landlord also names each house after a gem; we have the pleasure of living in the sapphire house, which is ‘pailin’ in Thai. Our home has 3 bedrooms (ahem people who said they’d visit), a study, a nice kitchen, and a laundry room. I won’t tell you how much less we’re paying than in NYC, but I had sticker shock in the best possible way. We are definitely not in Harlem anymore.

2) 7-Eleven is taking over the world. Really. Living in NYC, one gets used to seeing a Starbucks on every other corner. Well let me tell you, 7-Eleven has them beat by a landslide. There are 3 such stores within a 5 minute walk of our home. There were 12 such stores between the hotel we stayed in upon arrival, and the school. You can pay your cable bill at 7-Eleven. You can buy phone cards, sausage rolls, shaving lotion, and shoes. Apparently around American Thanksgiving, they sometimes sell weird mashed potato/gravy shake things in a cup. It’s intense.

3) I love motorbikes. My new favorite thing is taking a ‘motosci’ aka a motorbike taxi driven by an orange-vested gentleman to school every morning. Nothing wakes you up like going 50 kph sans helmet in the bracing morning air. This morning was slightly less entertaining as it was raining, however, I was most definitely awake when I arrived at school (I also may have been channeling drowned rat, but that’s another story).

That’s about it for now! As of today, I survived my first week of school. I suspect stories of the kids and parents will occupy many a post, but I see my word count is at 440, so those are for another day!

13 Responses to “Thailand: the adventure begins”

  1. Mr WordPress August 10, 2012 at 10:19 am #

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. Colleen August 10, 2012 at 11:15 am #

    Yessssssss! Love that your blogging! Can’t wait to read more!!!!
    And I also love that your entire house is mint green. 🙂

  3. corinne.coonan@gmail.com August 10, 2012 at 12:11 pm #

    It reminds me of Puerto Rico with all the brightly colored houses! Looks beautiful! Gotta start saving up to come over there!

  4. Kim August 10, 2012 at 2:08 pm #

    I’m so excited to hear all about your adventures!!!

  5. favteach2012 August 10, 2012 at 2:51 pm #

    I love it! More stories, more pix!

  6. Erin August 10, 2012 at 3:04 pm #

    So excited for you guys- ive been telling eric to stalk Orestes on the xbox game they play where the 13 yr olds always beat them- we should have xbox/ skype dates! House is adorable!

  7. John August 15, 2012 at 3:06 pm #

    “sans helmet”? Tsk tsk, I could provide you with a link to another blog featuring another American, a motorbike, and a crutch that says that is not a good idea.

  8. Heidi August 15, 2012 at 3:34 pm #

    Mint green is awesome. So refreshing. Also, you should buy a mint green helmet – or hot pink – or neon orange. Just sayin’

  9. Elaine McCormick August 15, 2012 at 4:33 pm #

    Yeah! Today I read my very first Blog; I feel so technical. The house is great and the neighborhood looks so charming. I am alreay planning my trip to Thailand in February so your extra bedrooms will not be wasted. Keep the Blogs coming!

  10. Hugh Berry August 15, 2012 at 5:01 pm #

    Great to see you are getting settled. Very clean streets there. I can just picture you on the Motor bike taxi. Well enjoy…TTFN

  11. Rosemary Sharpe August 15, 2012 at 7:41 pm #

    awesome!! I love your first attempt at blogging! although I am in favor of you purchasing a moto helmet ASAP!

  12. Elliot August 31, 2012 at 8:32 pm #

    Wow, this was very entertaining and surprising! Emma calls me an “aqua magnet” so, yes, I think I’d like your mint-green abode. I’m also in favor of the mint-green helmet idea (or any helmet, really). Motorbike taxis, though, that’s too much. And it sounds like 7-Elevens in Thailand have Starbucks’ ubiquity and Target’s selection — I mean, shoes? Have fun, both of you….

  13. Leon Covington September 9, 2012 at 10:05 am #

    Thailand has changed since 1971

Leave a Reply

