One Month!!

30 Aug

As of yesterday, we’ve officially been in Thailand for one month! In honor of the occasion, my lovely readers (yes, you are lovely, I am thrilled that anyone is reading this) will be treated to Darcy’s ramblings about Thailand part two. Here goes:

1. Bangkok is noisy, and messy, and smelly, and fascinating. When people talk about the traffic, they are NOT joking. A few weekends ago, some of the new teachers and I made the mistake of getting in a cab during rush hour. It took almost an hour to go the length of 3 subway stops. Granted it only cost $5 but still. The cars drive bumper to bumper, tailgate like crazy, slam on their brakes, and weave in and out with no rhyme or reason. In between this, motor bikes swerve around, bicycles dodge cars, and random pedestrians run across the road. I make it sound dangerous but oddly enough it’s not that bad. Then there are the smells. Everyone said it would be the noise that was overwhelming, but coming from NYC that was nothing. It’s the odors that have gotten me. Food stands are everywhere; some smell fabulous, while some are simply bizarre. One day while walking, I smelled something horrible like nothing I have ever smelled before. Putrid garlic plus fruit in one place. It turned out to be a huge basket of durian rinds. Wow. WOW. Part of me has to try some just to say I did, the other part of me thinks that nothing that smells like that EVER belongs on my tongue.

2. Massages are cheap, in the best possible way. Last week, some teachers invited me to get a foot massage with them. I pictured a 15- minute deal. Instead, we were given a full foot wash with exfoliation, plus comfy pajama pants to wear. The lovely ladies then tucked us in with fluffy blankets, and proceeded to massage the entire foot/leg region for over an hour. Then we got a shoulder massage, followed by a cup of delicious tea. All of this fabulousness for $7. Amazing. Orestes tried a Thai massage, which he described as half massage, half yoga session, simultaneously both painful and relaxing (if such a thing is possible). Message to potential visitors: everyone who appears in our neighborhood will be taken to experience said foot massage, post haste.

3. I have realized in moving abroad that it’s the little things that count. The things that have been the biggest adventure, and the most fascinating/distressing have been the random occurrences. We received a bill in the mail the other day, and realized we didn’t know if it was the cable, electricity, rent, or random not-for-us item. Fun. When people sneeze, I have no idea what to say to them. My Thai vocabulary (horribly pronounced) consists of the numbers 164 and 11 (our streets), thank you, hello, turn left, and stop please. On Tuesday, in taking a taxi with Orestes, I realized that although I’d mastered ‘turn left’, I had no earthly idea how to say ‘turn right’. I decided to make a random gesture and noise in the appropriate direction (full-on pointing is considered rude), with the result that the taxi thought I wanted him to stop. Since I also lack the vocabulary to say ‘go straight’ we paid, and proceeded to walk the last three blocks.

4. Coffee. Oh the coffee. It is everywhere and strong. I am in heaven. Caffeinated, buzzed heaven. There are coffee stands everywhere, and the coffee is gooooooood. Ice coffee consists of strong coffee (STRONG coffee) plus milk, plus condensed milk. So basically it’s sweet, potent fabulousness. The lady at the coffee stand at work sees me coming from a mile away. Every morning when the kids go to their daily special, I pay her a visit. Yesterday she asked, “Too sweet?” Nope. “Too strong?” Nope. Then she laughed at me. Awesome.

And now because the people like pictures:

     

Us drinking coconut water from a street vendor during a day of playing tourist in downtown Bangkok. Enjoy!

6 Responses to “One Month!!”

  1. corinne.coonan@gmail.com August 30, 2012 at 12:52 pm #

    You two are so cute with yoru coconuts!

  2. corinne.coonan@gmail.com August 30, 2012 at 12:53 pm #

    *your

  3. Becky August 30, 2012 at 1:36 pm #

    I’d like a foot massage, post haste. Your adventures sound so fun — keep the pictures and blog posts coming!

  4. Angie Davidson-Garlick August 30, 2012 at 2:46 pm #

    Everytime I read your blog I hear “One Night in Bangkok” in my head! 🙂

  5. John August 30, 2012 at 8:59 pm #

    Looking good, guys! Congrats on 1 month.

  6. Laura-Ann Robb August 30, 2012 at 11:51 pm #

    Another great post. Keep ’em coming–I know nothing about Thailand and am living vicariously through your blog! Thanks.

Leave a Reply

